top of page

Treaty Trader (E-1)

Treaty Trader (E-1) and Treaty Investor (E-2) visas are available to traders and investors who are nationals of countries with which the United States maintains treaties of commerce or navigation (“Treaty Countries”). Treaty Countries include Spain, Argentina, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, and Mexico. These visas have expiration dates which may be extended indefinitely.  Unfortunately, Brazil is not a Treaty Country.  Consequently, individuals who have only Brazilian citizenship are not eligible for either E-1 or E-2 status. 

Contrary to a common misconception, an investment of $500,000 is not the minimum investment amount to obtain any U.S. visa.  The amount of investment varies by visa type.  Certain investors may obtain a U.S. visa through investments of a much lower amount than $500,000. 

bottom of page